John Carr 5k

1st Lady, 20th Overall, 16.37 (PB, CR, OAC Record)

Yesterday, Wednesday 2nd May, my mum and I competed in the John Carr 5k in Esholt. The course is one of the fastest in the North, despite the undulations, offroad section and tight corners…. the reason it is fast is due to the fact that the finish (Esholt Village) is considerably closer to sea level than the start (Yorkshire Water Works)! For the past two years (spanning my running career) I have enjoyed running this course, getting a pb each time – 17.59 in 2010, 16.52 in 2011 – so I entered hoping for another one in 2012.

Good conditions, and only a bit of elbowing at the start and around the first tight offroad corner, meant I had a decent race… probably set off abit too fast, paying for it during the uphill 2-4k, but finished strongly in 16.37, a new course record (previously 16.45 held by Victoria Wilkinson). My mum also had a good race, despite still battling the ‘headache virus’, finishing in 24.19 and by my calculations 4th FV50 in the Yorkshire Vets 5k Championships. Great organisation as usual by Saltaire Striders, unfortunately I will be missing the last 2 races in the series, but will definately be back next year!

Results: http://www.stbedesac.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/Results/JC/2012/race1.html

Leave a Reply

