Surf, Turf, CRASH

So, following a week of bike training, I travelled over to Blackpool on Saturday with the Tate brigade for the first two stages of the ‘Surf and Turf’ weekend. The first stage was a one lap TT of around 1k and with a couple of tight corners. It took me a while to get going after starting in too big a gear.. Considering this and some dodgy cornering I was happy to finish in 10thin 1.27.7. Brit had a stormer of a TT, although also admitted to struggling with the corners, to come 8th in 1.27.5. At the end of stage one Rebecca Heath was in pole position, with only seconds separating first from last.

Round 2 was a 45 minute (30 laps) crit. I felt pretty strong all race, attacking, chasing and generally staying near the front to avoid accidents. Such was the group speed that no breakaways escaped with the race being decided by bunch sprint. I was in a good position coming into the last lap, but just before the final corner my progress was scuppered by a lapped rider, costing me about 10 positions… on the final straight my legs felt good, allowing me to slalom through riders to finish a respectable 5th. After all her exams Brit is still coming back to fitness, dropping off towards the end and finishing a minute or so behind the bunch.

It was also good to see the Abergavenny girls, Lowri and Amy, and their manager Terry, who I hadn’t seen since last years Ras na mBan in Ireland. This year their team has grown to become stronger than ever, while still retaining the same sense of happy cameraderie, and was noteably the most active ‘team’ in the pelaton during Saturdays criterium.

Zack’s race (in the 2/3/4 2-stage race) was also 30 laps, with 3 men escaping to finish ahead of a lone break away and then the bunch. Zack held his nerve to cross the line in 10th.

Day two was more eventful. A 45mile RR in Clitheroe, was made more exciting by the presence of some undulations (hills being my favourite racing terrain) and I was confident of getting in a breakaway to improve on my current GC position of 9th. Sadly it was not to be. After only a couple of laps, again staying near the front to avoid danger, I crashed out. Hard. From what I remember I was 3rd or 4th wheel, the girls in front slowed and my front wheel touched the bike in front… then boom… I was lying on the road unable to move my arm.

The nice people from St John’s ambulance patched me up, sending me to hospital with Zack. It looked like my visit to Blackburn A+E was going to take a while so Zack drove back to compete in his road race, finishing an excellent 5th (and 6th in the GC). Brit also had a good race, finishing in the bunch following a successful breakaway of 5 or 6 riders. Meanwhile my wounds were tended, x-rayed and wrapped up. I am now sporting a sling and some hefty arm bandages… not ideal!

After a trip to the docs on monday, the diagnosis is a possible fracture to the top of my humerus… a trip to the fracture clinic next week should give a more clear indication and idea of healing time… meanwhile the cuts to my elbow need dressing again on wednesday… looks like the only exercise I will be getting for the next few days will be walking to and from the docs surgery! Well maybe a bit of turbo…

Race wise, this weeks BMC Grand Prix is out the window… but I am hoping that next weeks Iffley Road Mile (the same track that Roger Bannister broke 4 minutes on!) might still be an option…

http://www.britishcycling.org.uk/road/article/roa20120716-road-National-Women-s-Series-continues-with-Surf-and-Turf-Weekend-0

Leave a comment