Yorkshire Chump

3000m – 1st in 9.39

1500m – 1st in 4.27

results – http://www.noeaa-athletics.org.uk/Pages/Article.aspx?id=265

photos – http://www.woodentops.org.uk/index.php?topic=home&subtopic=morephotos

report – http://www.wharfedaleobserver.co.uk/sport/sport_general/10452860.Bamford_is_Yorkshire_s_golden_girl_after_victories/

Last year I managed to win the Yorkshire 800m and 1500m, this year I decided to go for a longer distance double by doing the 1500m and 3000m…

On Saturday I took part in the 3000m – a distance I have only ever raced once on the track, as its generally a bit far for my liking. The field size was ok, 7 x seniors and 8 x juniors, and as usual the officials in charge of call up / starting were lively (Gordan tried to start a can-can line)… Yorkshire makes the best officials…

Yorkshire also had the best weather, boasting glorious sunshine all weekend long…

Anyway… the race… I decided to go for it, which is unusual for me (I generally prefer to sit in and sprint and the end). However I set off too fast (first lap in 72) and ‘paid’… 7 ½ laps felt like a long way…  In the end I was just happy to hear the bell for the last lap and crossed the line in 9.39 (a track pb, but not as fast as my road 3k).DSC_9674 DSC_9793DSC_0297

After a warm down, podium, and a good chat with Mike (who has kindly taken on the dubious honour of coaching me), I travelled home.

Sunday’s  1500m was a bit different. After watching Calli Thackery race the 800m the day before, and win a BMC Grand Prix 1500m B race the week before, Mike and I concluded she was a ‘front runner’… and as my preferred mode of running is as a ‘passenger’ we decided it was best to sit in until the last lap. This worked out pretty well as Calli set a good pace (74/2.28) which Samantha Johnson and I stuck to until the final 300m kick for the finish.DSC_1647 DSC_1655 DSC_1729

Next Stop = another BMC Grand Prix 1500m at Sportcity on Saturday

Leave a Reply

