Font Romeu – part 1

So I’m writing this post off my phone… my only source of entertainment on this camp bar a kindle and some art supplies… Oh and the reliable banter from my flat mates Len (Alison Leonard) and Adelle (Tracey).

Me and Len, phot taken by Adelle

Me and Len, photo taken by Adelle

I am a week into a British Athletics training camp in Font Romeu in the French Pyrenees (one of Paula’s favourite training destinations) and feel like I have settled into a fairly healthy lifestyle. After an initial knee niggle, caused by over zealous drills on the second day, and treated by Coach House physio Graeme, I feel like I am back on the straight and narrow and have clocked a few good training sessions.

The main difference with this camp to regular training is that all our activities are monitored… daily 8.30am weigh in / oxygen stats / knee to wall measurements / general health questionnaire is followed by training – which if a session will be overseen by a coach, physiologist Gareth (on hand to take lactic tests!) and sometimes even a physio. This is great for motivation and has really helped me as Gareth’s tests showed my lactic was too high during a split tempo which helped me slow down before it was too late and Graeme spotted some movement patterns that I need to improve (my right arm goes across and not forward during running and my hip movement is all over the place at the start of a session. .. but actually improves as I tire). Later on in the day gym work and cross training or the occasional double run are in order… There is honestly no better place in the world to do yoga facing the sun on our terrace as it moves across the Pyrenees mountain ranges.

Hopefully the next few weeks will see me get some solid training in and I can’t wait to start racing in May.

Steady running in Lornah gear and Hoka One One shoes

Steady running in Lornah gear and Hoka One One shoes

10 min x 2 tempo round the lake... papped by Gareth on the bike

10 min x 2 tempo round the lake… papped by Gareth on the bike

Leave a comment